As the Portland area mourns three teenagers killed in separate crashes last weekend , Oregon transportation policymakers worry that existing restrictions on young drivers are losing their effectiveness when it comes to preventing traffic deaths and injuries. In , the state passed a graduated driver's license law for people under 18 , requiring a period of supervised driving and a six-month ban on having other teenagers in the car. Over the next eight years, the state saw a dramatic payoff: The number of crashes involving teen drivers plummeted 29 percent, from 6, to 4, In fact, there have been recent years when state safety experts cringed at dramatic spikes in fatal crashes involving young drivers between the ages of 16 and From to , for example, the number of fatal wrecks involving teen drivers jumped from 33 to 46, according to ODOT records.
Oregon teen driving laws scrutinized after West Linn, Oregon City students' deaths
Oregon Driver Licensing Laws & Regulations
To obtain a probationary driver's license, you must meet the age requirements and have held an Indiana learner's permit for days approximately six months. If you have successfully completed an approved driver education program, you must be at least years and days-old approximately 16 years and three months to obtain a probationary driver's license, if you otherwise qualify. In addition, you must pass a driving skills test if the driver education provider does not offer a skills test waiver and a vision screening test. If you are younger than years-old when you apply for a driver's license, you must have a parent, legal guardian, or other adult who is willing to assume the obligations imposed sign an agreement of financial liability. A knowledge examination is required if you have any points on your driver record. You must arrive at least 15 minutes before your scheduled appointment time to take a driving skills test.
Private Party Testing FAQ
Perhaps the next best thing is a new manual that helps parents coach their teens in their quest to learn to drive and get an Oregon driver license. ODOT developed the booklet with the assistance of Driver Education instructors, traffic safety experts and a human behaviorist. In addition to fundamental driving techniques, the guide includes newer techniques that parents may not know.
According to an Oregon law, young drivers in the first six months after receiving their license are prohibited from transporting passengers younger than 20 years old, except for immediate family members. Decrease in traffic accidents. In spite of their complaints, many Silverton High School students conceded the restrictions are understandable.